Absent Kisses

If you were to  stand and stare into the mirror, what would you see?

I am standing here looking.

I see someone who I don’t recognise staring back at me.

Her eyes are bright &  light brown & curious, yet they are piercing me with pleas to look more deeply within them.

These bright eyes that I see, are tired and filled with much sadness, but as I blink and look back, I see that they are still smiling. They tell me that within them there is room for more, they are not yet done with me.

I see a long face, covered in dark chocolate skin. A mouth that’s shape is picture perfect. Lips that look like they have been drawn in. As I look and pout and I move my head around an eye winks at me!

Whilst I focus on the lips, the eyes show me images of times long ago when they were being kissed. I can see the difference in their colour and shape. I can see that in the absence of kisses, these lips now look naked!

If you were to stand and stare into the mirror, what would you see?

As I stand here looking, striking poses, messing with my reflection of me, headscarf and natural free, I see a woman who is not perfect, yet these imperfections create perfect definition and contours to the face that couldn’t look better on anyone but she.

I see a child who grew up too quickly! The lines under the eyes speak this, yet those same lines reflect, symbolise and represent the warrior within. In this moment, those lines do not reflect pain, they reflect strength, and character and beauty. In this moment, those lines, underline the stories that the eyes are narrating.

If you were to stand and stare into the mirror, what would you see?

As I stand here, turning my head left to right, looking…., I see all 3 of the K’s that are me. I see us all standing here, tall, and tired, and alone, yet we are together and still standing and doing so defiantly.

If you were to stand and stare into the mirror, what would you see?

As I stand here, I see me, and today, in this moment, what I see isn’t all that bad really. If I were to take a picture, I think I might like it. Today, in this moment, I quite like the face looking back at me.

© KLove 2015

All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

