Man

I don’t need you
I don’t need you
I don’t need you
But I want you!

I don’t mean to
I don’t mean to
I don’t mean to
But I love you!

Once you got all you wanted, nothing was ever the same!
(J Aiko)

My heart stops every time I hear the hook.
I close my eyes and I see the words,
My breath retreats but does not surrender as I hear the pain and I feel it.

It’s as though she is in my head
As those she knows my heart
As though she understands my thinking
As though she understands my love.

She is singing my words
She is singing my pain
She is singing my love
She is singing my confusion

Except
And although I don’t mean to

I do need you.

I need you Emotionally, I need you Physically, I need you to complete me.

Because
me+ you= the best
me+you= happiness
me+you= strength
me+you=power
me+you=love

I need you

And your masculinity
Your male energy

Because

These things amplify and compliment the woman in me.
Because together is how we were individually created to be.
Because this is what we were created to eachother represent.

I need you

To validate, confirm, attest and alight the woman in me.
Without you, I am not the best version of me that I can be.
Without you I am incomplete.

I need you

The Adam to my Eve

I don’t mean to
I don’t mean to
I don’t mean to

Except

I felt my best when you were stood next to me
You made the good girl in me exciting
We made each other better, together a force to be reckoned with
Pushing each other in different directions
So different in so many ways
But making perfect sense

I need you

I don’t mean to

But I love you!

Without you
Since you
I am not the whole me.

Ā© KLove 2014

2 thoughts on “Man

Leave a Reply

