Little Black Girl. I Love you

Little Black Girl
I saw you again yesterday
I have been been observing you for a while.
I look at you and my heart heaves, fills with sadness
If it wasnt me seeing it, I would refuse to believe what I see.

Little Black Girl I Love you
but
What is this?
what has happened?
How has this come to be?

I look at you and my heart breaks,
in you I can see no reflection,
no representaion of your mother, your sister, your aunt, of me.

Faces caked with make up- the colours do not even match or compliment your beautiful skin
Ridiculous ill fitted, unkempt, extremely fake looking weaves!
Fake eyelashes, nails, bottoms

What kind of foolishenss is this?

UNU NO KNOW SEH A SO BABYLON WAAN YOU FI LOOK A FI DEM TING DIS!

YOU DONT BELONG TO THEM. YOU BELONG TO ME!

Little Black Girl, I Love you,
but
on this I must speak.
Why are you running up and down the streets, like hood rats, everything hanging out, objectified, willingly!
sexed up, freely serving up your precious stuff to any boy who pays attention to your far from ready for it, you have no real idea what to do with it, forced ripe,body!

Little Black Girl I love you more than you know
but
do you not know or value your history!
do you not know that your mothers mothers mothers mothers, were held down whilst their precious stuff was taken from them against their will!
do you not know what they had to go through, withstand, who they had to beg and clean up after so that you could have free will!

Little Black Girl I LOVE YOU,
So you look at me when I speak!

Avert those eyes from the ground!

This is just what I mean
So eager to be a GROWN Black woman, yet you have no idea of the responsibility that comes with it!

Pick your head up I said!
We dont look down, we hold our heads high, no matter whoever or whatever, because we are QUEENS!

Little Black Girl I LOVE YOU,
So this is not judgement, this is my Love driven plea.
Stop and take a look at yourself. Honestly,
and you tell me if and why you like what you see.

That make up just hides and will eventually age and ruin your beautiful black skin.
That weave if I am totally honest does nothing for you except make you appear average, standard, similar, a product, when in fact you are a Queen!
When what lies beneath is you, is honest, is history, is natural black beauty.

Little Black Girl I LOVE YOU,
and I know what it is to feel the need to fit in, the desire to be pretty, to feel uncomfortable in your skin.
Please trust me when I say that you are beautiful, however being pretty isn’t everything!
Looks fade, breasts droop, things slacken! Being pretty isn’t everything!
being you, being Love, being happy, being different is what will set you apart.
Educate yourself, know how to cook, to clean, be hygienic, rinse out underwear! Arm yourselves with basic life skills.
Being pretty isn’t everything!

Little Black Girl I LOVE YOU,
please protect your spirit, protect your soul, protect your precious parts!
be you, be mindful, be clean hearted, be elegant, be eloquent, be a lady, be educated, be knowledgeable, be more than your body parts!

Little Black Girl I LOVE YOU,
I HONESTLY DO!
and I want you know that you are
POWER, you are STRENGTH, you are RESILLIENCE, BEAUTY, you are a LEADER, TEACHER, HEALER, you are GRACE and MAGNIFICENT, you are LOVE, you are ME, you are WE!

Little Black Girl I LOVE YOU,
GET TO KNOW AND LOVE YOURSELF!

PLEASE!

Little Black Girl I am here for you!
You can stand on me!

© KLove 2013

One thought on “Little Black Girl. I Love you

Leave a Reply

