Writing as Therapy

In my 1st blog I mentioned writing as therapy.

What do you think I mean by the term?

To be honest it can have many different meanings and will have a different meaning for each individual.

What it means for me is this:

From a young age I have had what I now know to be an overactive mind. I have always had noise in my head, more thoughts than I can concentrate on and have always found it difficult to quiet my mind!

I am a sensitive, emotional, reactive, over thinker! I try to do everything with perfection and I Love hard!

It wasn’t until a few years ago that i realised that all of the writing I had been doing, all the diaries kept as child or the stories written, were a form of therapy. I just knew that I loved to read, I loved to write and that I needed to write things down.

I now know that what I had/have been doing is what I call “writing my feelings out” and “writing to save myself from myself”.

I have to do this to make way for the millions of thoughts, feelings, emotions that encapsulate my mind. It’s like a shedding of emotion as opposed to skin.

Sometimes my feelings maybe emotional, sometimes sad, happy, lustful, painful or just random like, “I love my God children but I really don’t like these noisy screaming kids on the train at this moment” (sorry-sidebar- you will have to get used to those)

If I were unable to write and had to keep it all in, I would most definitely be walking the streets with my knickers on my head and talking them out to whoever would listen! So I write them out!

As a child in a pretty loveless home and as an adult that has been through some pretty crappy experiences and has issues arising from them, writing my feelings out has been and is an escape and a release. Writing it out feels natural. I get it (whatever it may be) off of my spirit.

It’s usually something to do with love, the effects if it on, the lack of it for me, the pain caused by it, my pursuit of it, the joy of it, and of late my mis-management of it!

Sometimes when I write it rhymes sometimes it doesn’t. Of late it’s being called poetry as I have for the 1st time shared it. But I will always class my writing as just me writing my feelings out!

Sharing and writing publicly is new to me, but I hope that some of what will be written or expressed in this blog, or what is read in my little book (once I pluck up the courage to publish it) will inspire and encourage others to write their feelings out also.

I truly believe in the power of doing so.

I know 1st hand how it is to feel as though no one gets or will get you, to feel as though no one will understand, to feel trapped and deafened by the loudness of the quiet around you!

But if you write it out you may find that you feel less consumed by it all. If even for just a little while.

Always Love and Light!

KLove.
© KLove 2013
Xx

20130619-192039.jpg

2 thoughts on “Writing as Therapy

  1. Great post. I really enjoy writing myself as well. The time I would specifically label is as therapeutic would be those times that I have been so hurt, upset and or angry with someone. I write them letters, pages and pages. and then I never send them or share them.. lol

    Believe me, they would never want to see what was written, and it would have absolutely no benefit for either party – just for me to express it is enough. they I fee healed from the grumpymoungus feelings I was experiencing.

    Wonderful advice 🙂

    Miss Lou
    x

    • Thank you Lou.
      Writing those letters is great. It doesn’t matter that you don’t send them. The benefit is in getting it out of your system and off of your spirit. Then you can look back and see your growth, development and use it as a testament of your resilience and strength.

      Keep writing it out sweetie.

      Always know that you are worthy and beautiful!

      KLove says so!

      Big Love!
      Xx

Leave a Reply

